2015 Galway SHC Final Replay v Craughwell

Sarsfields 2-10 Craughwell 0-14 - 22 Nov 2015

Click external links for other match reports [the42.ie] [RTE] [Independent] [Irish Examiner] [Irish Times] - [links open in new window]

Sarsfields now have their seventh Galway County Senior Hurling title after stemming the challenge of a determined Craughwell team. Craughwell were looking for their first title win since 1931, but it was to be Sarsfields day in the replay at Pearse Stadium.

First point of the game was from Craughwell swiftly followed by a Niall Morrissey pointing a free after a foul on Eamon Cleary, 1 point each.

We see again that Kevin Hynes has the crucial task of keeping tight watch on Niall Healy for the replay just as he did in the Kenny Park final two weks earlier.

Craughwell send over a few points from Niall Healy, Jamie Ryan and Alan Callanan, before Niall Morrissey points his second free for Sarsfields brings the scoring to Sarsfields 2 points, Craughwell 4 points, before a swift run by the captain Joeseph Cooney hits the Craughwell net - the goal makes it 1-02 to 0-04 after 10 minutes.

Craughwell's Fergal Healy draws the sides level again before Kerril Wade slips Sarsfields in front, soon followed by a point from Jamie Ryan levels the match for the third time.

Kevin Cooney comes on to replace an injured Diarmuid Murray, and a minute later Joseph Cooney wins another free. Niall Morrissey steps up to the free, steadies himself, and puts the Sarsfields men in front again after 20 minutes. 1-05 0-06.

5 minutes passes scoreless before a foul won by Kerril Wade gives Niall another scoring opportunity. Niall points again to bring the scoring to Sarsfields 1-06 Craughwell 0-06.

Two more frees for Craughwell and Niall Healy reduced the gap to one point. 1-06 0-08.

Noel Kelly brings the Sarsfields supporter roaring to their feet as he high pulls in the air to send the sliotar from Niall Quinn into the Craughwell net for Sarsfields second goal, and Sarsfields lead by 2-6 to 0-8 at the break. The Sarsfields team and supporters have a better start than one could have hoped.

Into the second half, and a blood injury to Noel Kelly requires Sean Kelly to come off the bench at the 11 minute mark.

Sarsfields start the second half without scoring until Sean Kelly brings a point home for Sarsfields. 2-7 to 0-8.

The scoring drought continues for Sarsfields as Niall Healy scores three frees for Craughwell and an Alan Callanan point at 49 minutes brings Craughwell within a point of Sarsfields. 2-7 to 0-12.

Kevin Cooney shows fine form scoring his first point, Sarsfields now lead 2-08 to 0-12. While Ivan Kenny comes off the bench for Alan Ward a minute later.

Another free to Sarsfields just outside the Craughwell square, gives Niall another scoring opportunity. Niall sends it over for his 6th point of the day.

And were into extra time now, at least 3 minutes, and another Niall Healy point again reduces the safety margin for the Sarsfields men. And the supporters in Pearse stadium are on the edge of their seats until Kevin Cooney sends over his second point and the whistle blows!

Full-time:Sarsfields 2-10 Craughwell 0-14 - 22 Nov 2015

Sarsfields are 2015 senior county champions again, the club's 7th county championship in the bag. Congratulations lads.

Sarsfields: Ciaran Dolan; Kevin Hynes, Darren Skehill, Eamonn Cleary, Cathal Murray, Niall Quinn, Diarmuid Murray, Ronan Quinn, Ian Fox, Joseph Cooney (C] [1-00], Noel Kelly [1-00], Kerril Wade [0-01]; Ian Skehill, Alan Ward, Niall Morrissey [0-06, 0-05f].

Subs: Kevin Cooney [0-02] for Diarmuid Murray [19 mins], Sean Kelly [0-01] for Noel Kelly [35 mins], Ivan Kenny for Alan Ward [57 mins].

Craughwell: A Ryan; S Dolan, I Daniels, M Monaghan; John Ryan, A Cullinane, M Horan; N Callanan, G O’Halloran; F Healy [0-01], S Hynes, Jamie Ryan [0-02]; T Monaghan, A Callanan [0-02], N Healy [0-09, 0-08f].

Subs: A Greaney for N Callanan [40 mins], K Cullinane for Hynes [51 mins].

Referee: Shane Hynes [Liam Mellows]

The Sarsfields panel 22 Nov 2015 at replay co final
Managers - Cathal Murray, Frances Madden, Padraig Earls
Group photo - Sarsfields team on the surface of Pearse Stadium with the cup
Joe lifts the Tom Callanan Cup
Photo of the 2015 club officers
A picture of the amazing number of Sarsfields supporters at Pearse Stadium after the Co Final win