Club Archive

Child page Index

Galway v Antrim - date unknown

Michael (Hopper) McGrath [12] in a tussle with Mickey Sullivan [falling] and Gregory O'Kane of Antrim.

Sarsfields 1968 Co. Junior finalists & East Board Champions

Cups: Gilligan Tournament, East Board, County Cup.
Front: Paddy Lally, Sean Leslie, Frank Kenny, Tom Moran, Andy Kenny, Eamon Corcoran, Michael Conneely, Tommie Kelly
Middle: Rev. Fr. McNamara, Seamus Doyle, Sean Kelly, Billy Leslie, Seamus Nevin, Tom Moran, Jack Ward.
Back: Jimmy Fahy, Sean Healy, Michael Corcoran, Willie Ward, P.J. Fox, Peter Ward, Martin Dolan, Johnny Dooley.


County Final 1980 V Meelick/Eyrecourt

Michael Conneely [1] comes bursting out of his goals with Tommy Fox [7] Vincent Kelly [4] and John Joe Madden partly hidden centre in close attention.

Sarsfields Co Champions 1980 - 1st Title

Sarsfields reached their first Senior county final in 1980 against Meelick-Eyrecourt played in Duggan Park Ballinasloe, captained by Sean Kelly (also the team trainer!). Sarsfields emerged victorious mainly through the accurate free taking of Michael Mulkerrins to take their first ever County title. Sarsfields then went on to capture their first Connacht title, before going down to Cork side St.Finbar's on a score of 2-11 to 1-3.

The winning Sarsfields teams and substitutes: Michael Conneely, Martin Dolan, J.J Madden, Vincent Kelly, Michael Murray, Sean Kelly (Cpt), Tommy Fox, Jimmy Cooney, Noel Morrissey, Pat Lyons, Tommy Shea, Michael Mulkerrins, Sean Shea, Jimmy Kelly, Mattie Conneely. Subs: Tommy Kenny, Joe Dolan, Pat Hynes, Frank Kenny, Larry Fox, Liam Mulkerrins, Michael Ward, Benny Wade, Gerry Earls, Tommy Morrissey.


Sarsfields Minor panel 1988

Back row: Billy McDonagh, Gabriel Leslie, Kevin Keane, Brendan Kelly, Joe McGrath, Val Murray, Gerard Donoghue, John Keane, Thomas Stratford.
Middle row: Adrian McMahon, Alan Dwyer, Fintan Keane, Cyril Mitchell, John Noone, Eamon Keane, Conal Donohue, John Walshe, Noel Manicle, Peter Kelly.
Front row: Dermot Hynes, Michael Stratford, Alan Moran, Gerry McGrath, John Kelly, Peter Cooney, Cormac McGann, Keith Glynn, Killian Keane.


Sarsfields Co Champions 1989 : 2nd Title

Sarsfields captured their second senior county title in 1989 and ended the eighties as they had began it with success. On this occasion Sarsfields defeated Athenry in St. Brendans Park, Loughrea, captained by the great Michael "Hopper" McGrath. The final score was Sarsfields 3-07, Athenry 1-08, with Joe Cooney earning Connacht Tribune Sports Star of the week and Tommy Kenny earning the Galway Bay FM man of the match award. Sarsfields went on to win the Connacht title but their All-Ireland hopes were dented by Kilkenny side Shamrocks inspired by the legendary Fennelly brothers, who later went on to claim the title.

The winning Sarsfields team: Tommy Kenny, Benny Wade, Brendan Cooney, Pakie Cooney, Donal Keane , Michael Cooney, Gerry McGrath, Noel Morrissey, Adian Donohue, Michael Kenny, Joe Cooney, Michael Mulkerrins, Peter Cooney, Michael McGrath, Padraig Kelly. Subs: Mattie Connelly for Peter Cooney, Jimmy Cooney for Pakie Cooney.


New Inn National School County Champions 1991

Back row: Colm Ward, Jonathon Dervan, Martin Spellman, Paul Dervan, MacDara MacLochlainn, Mel Gorman, Gerry Griffin, Cyril Murray.
Front row: Padraic Ward, John ward, Ruairi Murray, Padraic Noone, Seamus Doyle, Cathal Madded, John Madden, Cathal McGuinness.
Missing from photo were Brendan McGrath, Ronan Quinn and Brian Kelly.


Christmas 1992

The late Tom "Wax" Deely in foreground, Laurence Scully in background.
Girl in foreground is Maureen Kelly in whose parents house photo was taken circa 1992.

Sarsfields All-Ireland Club Hurling Champions 1993 : 1st Title
(County Champions 1992 : 3rd Title)

Sarsfields All-Ireland Club Hurling Champions 1994 : 2nd Title
(County Champions 1993 : 4th Title)

Sarsfields are the first club in the country to retain the All-Ireland Club Hurling title

Sarsfields Co Champions 1995 : 5th Title

Sarsfields Co Champions 1997 : 6th Title

Sarsfields are county champs for their 6th time.
Connacht Champions 1997 (subsequently lost the 1998 All-Ireland final to Birr)

Welcoming home Galway as the All Ireland Champions in 1980
Section of the crowd in Ballyfa which welcomed home Galway as the All Ireland Champions in 1980

Sarsfields Novelty Act 1979 entitled "Dead but he won't lie down!"

Left P.J. O'Reilly; "body" Gerry Huban; right Martin Dolan.

Senior Team 2000