Junior B Hurling Championship: June 19, 2011

Post date: Jun 24, 2011 8:36:33 AM

Sarsfields 1-19 Ballindereen 1-16

Sarsfields won their first match of this years Junior B Championship in a brilliant game played in Castledaly on Sunday. Ballindereen started brightly and scored a goal early in the game after a goalmouth scramble. Points from Peter Kelly, Fiachra Cooney, Ronan Duhan and four frees from the accurate Dylan Madden kept Sarsfields in the game and left the half-time score at Ballindereen 1-7 to Sarsfields 0-8. Ballindereen still led with ten minutes to go but Sarsfields staged a superb comeback with a great goal from Peter Kelly putting them in front. Points from substitutes Cormac Dolan and Alan Ward (two) and some great long range frees from Stephen Earls gave Sarsfields a victory on a score-line of 1-19 to 1-16.

The scorers for Sarsfields were Dylan Madden 0-8 (0-8 frees), Peter Kelly 1-1, Stephen Earls 0-4 (0-4 frees), Alan Ward 0-2, Darragh Keane 0-1, Fiachra Cooney 0-1, Ronan Duhan 0-1 and Cormac Dolan 0-1.

The team was Noel Earls, Cathal Dolan, Colm Ward, Mark Scully, Gavin Cooney, Michael Donohue, Stephen Earls, Darragh Keane, Alan Cannon, Dylan Madden, Ronan Duhan, Barry McMahon, Peter Kelly, Fiachra Cooney, and Eoin Leslie. Subs: Cormac Dolan for Eoin Leslie, John Scully for Cathal Dolan, Alan Ward for Ronan Duhan and Patrick Hynes for Peter Kelly.

Reported by Cathal Murray