2015 Galway SHC Final Replay v Craughwell

Sarsfields 2-10 Craughwell 0-14 - 22 Nov 2015

Click external links for other match reports [the42.ie] [RTE] [Independent] [Irish Examiner] [Irish Times] - [links open in new window]

Sarsfields now have their seventh Galway County Senior Hurling title after stemming the challenge of a determined Craughwell team. Craughwell were looking for their first title win since 1931, but it was to be Sarsfields day in the replay at Pearse Stadium.

First point of the game was from Craughwell swiftly followed by a Niall Morrissey pointing a free after a foul on Eamon Cleary, 1 point each.

We see again that Kevin Hynes has the crucial task of keeping tight watch on Niall Healy for the replay just as he did in the Kenny Park final two weks earlier.

Craughwell send over a few points from Niall Healy, Jamie Ryan and Alan Callanan, before Niall Morrissey points his second free for Sarsfields brings the scoring to Sarsfields 2 points, Craughwell 4 points, before a swift run by the captain Joeseph Cooney hits the Craughwell net - the goal makes it 1-02 to 0-04 after 10 minutes.

Craughwell's Fergal Healy draws the sides level again before Kerril Wade slips Sarsfields in front, soon followed by a point from Jamie Ryan levels the match for the third time.

Kevin Cooney comes on to replace an injured Diarmuid Murray, and a minute later Joseph Cooney wins another free. Niall Morrissey steps up to the free, steadies himself, and puts the Sarsfields men in front again after 20 minutes. 1-05 0-06.

5 minutes passes scoreless before a foul won by Kerril Wade gives Niall another scoring opportunity. Niall points again to bring the scoring to Sarsfields 1-06 Craughwell 0-06.

Two more frees for Craughwell and Niall Healy reduced the gap to one point. 1-06 0-08.

Noel Kelly brings the Sarsfields supporter roaring to their feet as he high pulls in the air to send the sliotar from Niall Quinn into the Craughwell net for Sarsfields second goal, and Sarsfields lead by 2-6 to 0-8 at the break. The Sarsfields team and supporters have a better start than one could have hoped.

Into the second half, and a blood injury to Noel Kelly requires Sean Kelly to come off the bench at the 11 minute mark.

Sarsfields start the second half without scoring until Sean Kelly brings a point home for Sarsfields. 2-7 to 0-8.

The scoring drought continues for Sarsfields as Niall Healy scores three frees for Craughwell and an Alan Callanan point at 49 minutes brings Craughwell within a point of Sarsfields. 2-7 to 0-12.

Kevin Cooney shows fine form scoring his first point, Sarsfields now lead 2-08 to 0-12. While Ivan Kenny comes off the bench for Alan Ward a minute later.

Another free to Sarsfields just outside the Craughwell square, gives Niall another scoring opportunity. Niall sends it over for his 6th point of the day.

And were into extra time now, at least 3 minutes, and another Niall Healy point again reduces the safety margin for the Sarsfields men. And the supporters in Pearse stadium are on the edge of their seats until Kevin Cooney sends over his second point and the whistle blows!

Full-time:Sarsfields 2-10 Craughwell 0-14 - 22 Nov 2015

Sarsfields are 2015 senior county champions again, the club's 7th county championship in the bag. Congratulations lads.

Sarsfields: Ciaran Dolan; Kevin Hynes, Darren Skehill, Eamonn Cleary, Cathal Murray, Niall Quinn, Diarmuid Murray, Ronan Quinn, Ian Fox, Joseph Cooney (C] [1-00], Noel Kelly [1-00], Kerril Wade [0-01]; Ian Skehill, Alan Ward, Niall Morrissey [0-06, 0-05f].

Subs: Kevin Cooney [0-02] for Diarmuid Murray [19 mins], Sean Kelly [0-01] for Noel Kelly [35 mins], Ivan Kenny for Alan Ward [57 mins].

Craughwell: A Ryan; S Dolan, I Daniels, M Monaghan; John Ryan, A Cullinane, M Horan; N Callanan, G O’Halloran; F Healy [0-01], S Hynes, Jamie Ryan [0-02]; T Monaghan, A Callanan [0-02], N Healy [0-09, 0-08f].

Subs: A Greaney for N Callanan [40 mins], K Cullinane for Hynes [51 mins].

Referee: Shane Hynes [Liam Mellows]

(Semi-Final) AIB All-Ireland Senior Club Championship

6 February 2016 2pm Páirc Tailteann Navan

Sarsfields 1-06 Ruairí Óg Cushendall 3-12

Cushendall held the upper hand from start to finish in Navan yesterday to deservedly advance to their first All-Ireland final winning by 3-12 to 1-6.

The groundwork for the Cushendall semi-final win was laid in the opening half when Sarsfields had whatever advantage accrued from the diagonal wind.

Ryan McCambridge manned a superb Cushendall defence and while McManus was a threat throughout, so too was Sean McAfee and Paddy McGill.

Sarsfields were chasing the game from the early stages when Cushendall struck for the opening goal after just four minutes.

A massive clearance from McCambridge was taken by McAfee and when he was hauled down by Sarsfields full-back Darren Skehill, McManus stepped up and drilled the penalty along the ground to the net.

Sarsfields managed just one point from play in the opening half, with four frees from Niall Morrissey all they had to show before Alan Ward pointed just before the break to leave them trailing 1-4 to 0-5.

Cushendall went for the jugular straight after the restart.

McManus fired over two more points and, in between, McAfee collected a long delivery and had the strength and pace to get away from Skehill and shoot to the net, extending their lead by 2-6 to 0-5.

Sarsfields got a glimmer of hope when their captain Joseph Cooney, with the dexterity that was reminiscent of his father Joe, superbly connected to a Morrissey 65 to flick it powerfully to the net.

But that was one of just two scores which Sarsfields managed in the second half, with Morrissey getting another free.

They had no choice but to try for goals to rescue their hopes, but the Cushendall defence was superb and with McGill getting his third point and McManus tacking on the points, the Ulster side kept pulling away and they sealed a deserved win when Karl McKeegan forced home their third goal in the closing stages.


Cushendall: N McManus 1-7 (1-5f), P McGill 0-3, S McAfee 1-0, K McKeegan 1-0, C Carson 0-1, A Delargy 0-1.

Sarsfields: N Morrissey 0-5 (0-5f), J Cooney 1-0, A Ward 0-1.

Sarsfields: C Dolan; E Cleary, D Skehill, C Murray; N Quinn, K Hynes, R Quinn; J Cooney, I Fox; A Ward, K Wade, N Morrissey; I Skehill, N Kelly, K Cooney. Subs: I Kenny for I Skehill (49 mins), J Burke for Wade (50 mins), S Kelly for Morrissey (52 mins), E Spellman for K Cooney (60 mins).

Cushendall: E Gillan; D Kearney, M Burke, R McCambridge; A Graffin, E Campbell, S Delargy; S McNaughton, A Delargy; C Carson, N McManus, P McGill; D McNaughton, S McAfee, C McNaughton. Subs: K McKeegan C McNaughton (48 mins), C McAllister for D McNaughton (59 mins).

Referee: P O’Dwyer (Carlow).