Golf Society 2016

Welcome to the Sarsfields Golfing Society page.

Also see the Society in Facebook.

Captain: Padraig Hynes
President: Kevin Ward
Treasurer: Cathal Hynes
Secretary: Cathal Murray

2016 KN Group All Ireland GAA Golf Challenge - 9th to 10th Sept at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Best of luck to Eoin Leslie, PJ McGuinness, Declan Malone and Colm McGuinness as they represent Sarsfields and attempt to win a third All Ireland Golf Championship for the club.

Captains Prize Winners 2016.
September 3rd at Loughrea Golf Club
A huge thank you to everyone that played and our sponsors.

1st PJ Mc Gunniness 38pts (back 9)
2nd Hugh Nolan 38pts
3rd Declan Malone 36pts (back 9)
Gross - Paddy Mc Mahon
4th Kerril Wade 36pts (back 9)
5th Cillian Moran 36pts (back 9)
6th Colm Mc Guinness 36pts (back 9)
Ladies Prize - Olive Costello - 35pts
Longest Drive Men - Noel Kelly
Longest Drive Women - Olive Costello
Nearest the Pin - Paddy Mc Mahon
Vistiors Prize - Gerry Forde
Birdie Pot - John Nolan (€720)

Outings for 2016 are:

RESULTS: 9th April Mountbellew Golf Club - 3 ball blitz.

13 teams, 39 players.

Well done to our winners Patrick Mc Mahon, John Flynn & Mattie Finn.
1st Patrick Mc Mahon, John Flynn & Mattie Finn 56.2
2nd David Brynes Jnr, Seamus Goldrick, & Declan Malone 58(back 3)
3rd Padraig Hynes , Des Larkin & John Manicle 58 (back 9)
Congrats to the winner of our Grand National Sweepstake Olive Costello

Thank you to main sponsor Ronan Hynes of Sellors Solicitors Limerick

RESULTS: Athenry Golf Club Saturday 7th May.

2nd society outing is kindly sponsored by Galway Business School

1st Cathal Murray (Gaffer) - 41 pts
2nd Michael Corcoran - 38 pts (back 9)
3rd PJ Mc Guinness - 38 pts
Congrats to Michael Corcoran and PJ Mc Guinness who both birdied the 17th and share the birdie pot of €120

RESULTS: Portumna Golf Club Saturday 4th June (Presidents Prize)

A huge thank you to everyone who attended Kevin's Ward Presidents Prize in Portumna Golf Club

1st Niall Quinn - 46 pts (back9)
2nd Kevin Ward (Mr President) 46 pts
3rd Steven Creaven 40 pts (back 9)
4th Chris Mahony 40 pts (back 9) Visitors Prize - John Sayers 41 points
Men's Longest Drive - Padraig Hynes
Women's Longest Drive - Deirdre Costello
Nearest the Pin - Steven Creaven

Thank you also to our main sponsor of this event - Sheila Stratford - Loughrea Curtain & Blind Centre

RESULTS: Ballinasloe Golf Club Saturday 2nd July

A huge thank you to everyone who attended our outing in Ballinasloe Golf Club.

1st Kevin Ward 40 pts

2nd Hugh Nolan 36 pts

3rd Kerril Wade 35 pts (back 9)

Thank you also to our main sponsor of this event - Sarsfields Hurling Club.

RESULTS: Galway Bay Golf Club Saturday 13th August.

1st Conor O Grady 40 Pts (back9)
2nd Eoin Leslie 40pts
3rd Declan Malone 37pts
Thank you to Cillian Moran of TOP OIL for sponsoring this event

Sarsfields Golfer of the Year


Cathal Murray is currently in first place. The top 3 three golfers will get the chance to head to Waterford for the All Ireland GAA Golf Challenge.

Thank you to Ronan Hynes of Sellors Solicitors for sponsoring.